UMD: A Globally Connected University

Getting Started Sessions

Getting Started Sessions

Study Abroad 101 & 201

What is study abroad? How does it work at UMD? Where do I even start? Get started with our Study Abroad 101 & 201 sessions! These sessions will help provide information, resources, and support no matter where you are in your study abroad journey.

Which session is right for me? See the descriptions below to see which will be the best fit depending on where you are in the planning process:

Study Abroad 101

This introductory session is designed to give an overview of study abroad at the University of Maryland and answer general questions. We will cover the basics about academics, finances, locations, and how to plan to go abroad!

  • No prior research, preparation, or sign-up is required.
  • After participating in this session you will be able to conduct a program search and be ready to meet one-on-one with an Education Abroad advisor to discuss the details of your study abroad journey! 

Study Abroad 201

Are you planning to study abroad in Summer 2022 or Fall 2022, and want to know what you need to do now to be prepared to open an application in August? This session is for you!

  • We will work through goal setting exercises to help you discover the right program for your academic, profession, and personal needs
  • Important research resources on our website will be highlighted and explained
  • Share next steps you should take now to prepare for your application
Upcoming Sessions
Session Date Time Location
Study Abroad 101 Monday, February 7 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/99932957532
Study Abroad 201 Wednesday, February 9 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/98650578392
Study Abroad 201 Monday, February 14 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/98995028178
Study Abroad 101 Wednesday, February 16 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/98139463943
Study Abroad 101 Monday, February 21 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/98659888031
Study Abroad 201 Wednesday, February 23 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/99571253672
Study Abroad 201 Monday, February 28 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/98704186188
Study Abroad 101 Wednesday, March 2 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/91637051604
Study Abroad 101 Monday, March 7 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/97069614259
Study Abroad 201 Wednesday, March 9 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/93057064187
Study Abroad 201 Monday, March 14 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/98675947766
Study Abroad 101 Wednesday, March 16 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/92864759404
Study Abroad 101 Monday, March 28 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/94859256764
Study Abroad 201 Wednesday, March 30 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/97219230890
Study Abroad 201 Monday, April 4 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/96387520289
Study Abroad 101 Wednesday, April 6 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/95864434056
Study Abroad 101 Monday, April 11 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/97281005183
Study Abroad 201 Wednesday, April 13 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/98312839219
Study Abroad 201 Monday, April 18 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/96422115798
Study Abroad 101 Wednesday, April 20 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/95814911124
Study Abroad 101 Monday, April 25 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/96327083201
Study Abroad 201 Wednesday, April 27 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/97312677542
Study Abroad 201 Monday, May 2 10:00-11:00am https://umd.zoom.us/j/99818484790
Study Abroad 101 Wednesday, May 4 1:00-2:00pm https://umd.zoom.us/j/94438747798